5 Fantasy Stories to Watch Out for in 2017

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Release date: January, 2017.

This hugely popular author brought us the Divergent Series. While you might want to steer clear of asking fans about the translation of the books to movies, particularly the last book, if you’re like me you’ll be stoked to have new and shiny ‘what Veronica did next’ to dig into:

‘In a galaxy powered by the current, everyone has a gift.
Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power — something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is the son of a farmer and an oracle from the frozen nation-planet of Thuvhe. Protected by his unusual currentgift, Akos is generous in spirit, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get this brother out alive — no matter what the cost.
The Akos is thrust into Cyra's world, and the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. Will they help each other to survive, or will they destroy one another?
Carve the Mark is Veronica Roth's stunning portrayal of the power of friendship — and love — in a galaxy filled with unexpected gifts.’

A new world, a bit of magic, enemy races, the hope of love and friendship to bridge fear and hate. I’m in!

Legion by Julie Kagawa

Release date: April 26.

Julie Kagawa left fans hanging on a cliff at the end of the third book in the Talon saga, Soldier. The eagerly awaited book four is about to wing its way to us. We’ve had dragon-shifter Ember’s story in Talon, rogue dragon Riley’s in Rogue, dragon-hunter Garret Xavier Sebastien’s in Soldier and now in Legion readers will be dying to see how things come together, not least of which will be the fate of Garret. *wrings hands*

‘The legions will be unleashed, and no human, rogue dragon or former dragonslayer can stand against the coming horde. 

Dragon hatchling Ember Hill was never prepared to find love at all—dragons do not suffer human emotions—let alone with a human, and a former dragonslayer at that. With ex-soldier of St. George Garret dying at her feet after sacrificing his freedom and his life to expose the deepest of betrayals, Ember knows only that nothing she was taught by dragon organization Talon is true. About humans, about rogue dragons, about herself and what she's capable of doing and feeling.’

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Mass

The third book in the best-selling series from Sarah J Maas will be released in May, 2017.

‘Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

The earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.’

Assassin’s Fate by Robin Hobb

Release date: May, 2017.

Robin Hobb is [insert more cool and up-to-date word for ‘da bomb’ here] [no...srlsly]. If you’re not on board with Fitz and the Fool as yet, you’ve got three trilogy’s worth of fabulous waiting for you!

Don’t you love when you find an author you love and you just want to read every word they ever wrote? Yeah, that. So this last book, the third book of the third trilogy will be bittersweet for fans. If it’s just the start of your Robin Hobb journey...well lucky you!

The Book of Dust by Phillip Pullman

Release date: October, 2017.

Author Phillip Pullman made a promise after finishing the trilogy His Dark Materials that he wouldn’t cut his hair until his next book was published. 17 years later he will get that chance. (Can I just say...Eeew!)

The first volume of The Book of Dust, as yet untitled, is set 10 years before Northern Lights and explains how Lyra came to live at Jordan College.

When asked if it is a prequel or a sequel, he says it is in fact an ‘equel’ – it stands not before or after his previous trilogy, but beside it.

Should make for interesting reading!

Renowned storyteller Philip Pullman returns to the parallel world of Lyra Belacqua and His Dark Materials for a thrilling and epic adventure in which daemons, alethiometers, and the Magisterium all play a part.
The Book of Dust will be a work in three parts, like His Dark Materials (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass).’