Branford Boase Award 2015 Shortlist Announced!


Today the shortlist for the 2015 Branford Boase award was announced and we're loving the choices. The Branford Boase award is given annually to the author of an exceptional children's author. The aspect that makes this award unique is that it also honours the editor of the winner to highlight the importance of the editing process in publishing. From a longlist of eighteen amazing titles, only seven have made the cut. 

The shortlist is as follows:

Bone Jack by Sara Crowe (Edited by Charlie Sheppard and Eloise Wilson and Published by Anderson Press)

The Year of the Rat by Clare Furniss (Edited by Jane Griffiths and Published by Simon & Schuster)

Cowgirl by Giancarlo Gemin (Edited by Kirsty Stansfield and Published by Nosy Crow)

Half Bad by Sally Green (Edited by Ben Horslen and Published by Puffin)

Trouble by Non Pratt (Edited by Annalie Grainger and Denise Johnstone-Burt and Published by Walker Books)

Leapold Blue by Rosie Rowell (Edited by Emily Thomas and Published by Hot Key)

The Dark Inside by Rupert Wallis (Edited by Jane Griffiths and Published by Simon & Schuster)


The winner will be announced on July 9th at a ceremony held in London and will receive £1,000 and a unique hand-crafted silver-inlaid box. Good luck to all the shortlisted authors and editors!